Food · Random

The funny thing about Kale

Kale salads are a popular item right now, but there’s something you may not know about one of the most nutrient dense foods on the planet. Don’t get me wrong, I love Kale, and I know there are others that can live without ever eating a bite in their life, but it can actually be bad for you!

You might be saying, “It’s a superfood, how can it be bad for you?”Kale the Queen of Greens

I know! It’s a great source of Omega-3s, Lutein, Zinc, among many others.

However.

Too much of it can restrict the iodine from being absorbed by your thyroid, causing a chain reaction in your body. How much is too much? That depends on your thyroid, what else you’re eating, and the discussion you have with your doctor(s).

For me, three giant leaves are my limit for one meal before my body renders it useless. I’ve eaten a whole bunch in one sitting, more than once, so I’m well aware of the effects that amount has on my body. I’m also aware that the benefits of cooked kale far outweigh the nutritional value of raw kale. Always consume cooked/steamed kale! I make sure to eat it with a healthy fat, to further increase the absorption of the healthy minerals and vitamins that this coniferous vegetable holds.

But, for me, only three leaves are my limit.

I’m not on a medication for thyroid, I’m fortunate to be borderline, currently, not needing any as long as I pay attention to what I’m eating and how my body responds, but I’m most certainly not a doctor.

Have you ever noticed your body reacting differently after eating specific foods, perhaps dairy, breads, or even a tomato? There’s genetically something that’s causing that reaction inside of you, so the best thing to do is write down what you ate, how your body reacted, for how long the reaction lasted, and have a talk with your doctor(s) about what to do going forward.

Much like medication, mixing different foods can affect people differently, and there will never be an identical reaction among a panel of people due to their genetic makeups, but similar reactions can draw a pattern to follow towards treatment/prevention.

I’ve known about this for at least one year, and have tested my limits with different cooking methods (steamed, sauteed, baked) as well as the different kinds of kale.
kale1I personally believe dinosaur kale makes the best chips.

Knowing all of this has made me yearn for different genes just so I can enjoy a giant bowl of kale salad, or even a whole plate of kale chips, but I also know I wouldn’t be sharing this if I had different genes.

Kale is great for your kidneys, so enjoy it, in moderation, for your health, as long as your doctor approves.

kale_nutrition_facts

Share your thoughts, please!

