Training · Wellness Wedesday

Wellness Wednesday – Holidays are coming

wellness-wednesday-fitnessHEYYYOOOOOOOOO!! Wellness is a HUGE passion of mine, and today is Wednesday, so yeah, Wellness Wednesday is now going to be a (possibly regular) thing!

All of the links in this post are original, unsponsored, unaffiliated. This is a post about something I love, and want to make sure as many people see it as possible. Click a link, I won’t have a clue!!!!

This year I’ll be avoiding the holiday weight gain with the help of the workout program Lightning and Thunder, by Jen Sinkler and Team Moyer: Angie Brambley-Moyer and Tim Moyer. I am fortunate to always be somewhere in a bikini when the rest of the nation encounters Winter, so that’s additional motivation for avoiding holiday weight gain other than the avoiding the tightness of gained weight in the favorite pair of jeans.

I’m just one person, so I bought the Athlete Edition, for $99.
bundle_all

I began the Beginner section of Thunder and Lightning a few weeks ago, and I am IN LOVE with the variety of workouts each training day, as well as the premise behind the program: for athletes wanting to be athletes. I’m not doing a bikini body workout, because I want to look as strong as I feel in all of my clothes, not just a bikini. I’m also not training for anything specific, but this program gives me overall athletic strength so I may choose a different sport with confidence I’ll have a decent amount of strength to get through it. Some of the workouts include items you’d see professional athletes doing in their daily workouts, which just shows that muscle groups need to be mixed up every day instead of solely focused on.

I also love that there isn’t a designated muscle group workout each day, because you work every muscle every day. The cardio is “SAQ” Speed, Agility, and Quickness, and I love it because I can see myself using these techniques to build my daily activities. If you’re ever at my house, you’ll appreciate knowing how to quickly change direction while walking to avoid getting tripped by a cat. The cardio can honestly be done anywhere, you’re not stuck on a treadmill (which always makes me motion sick if I have to exceed 2 miles), or a stair master!

I’ve done a lot of training programs; I’ve bought Beachbody type DVDs, hired personal trainers, and did my fair share of online programs that bikini models put together. Every one is different, and each is for a different person. I’ve found that staring at a TV is horrible for my neck (and yours!) while trying to do various workouts, and that even though a personal trainer is writing a program for your specific abilities, it’s focused on just getting stronger for the goal you give them. The bikini body programs were awesome, because you can envision yourself getting to that shape, but I’m built like an athlete, I thrive in athletic situations, so it’s about time I’ve found a program that is for my body! I love lifting weights, and always have, so this program is really great for me!

Jen has other programs, which I’ve been intrigued with before but have not FALLEN IN LOVE IMMEDIATELY with therefore never purchased.  Because she’s included a beginner and intermediate program, I actually have 6 months (24 weeks) worth of workouts for a LOT cheaper than you’d find ANY where else. 6 months, for $99. Seriously, find something better at a batter price! {Have I told you yet I love a bargain?}

I do have a generic meal plan I follow every day, which will keep my workouts fueled without deprivation, and keep my waist size where I want it: IN MY PANTS, not having over the edge. It incorporates 2 meal replacement protein shakes, 1 protein bar, 1 big meal, 1 dessert, and 2 snacks every day. All of my food is dairy free, soy free, gluten free, corn free, and as organic as possible. This is how my body needs me to eat, otherwise it gets angry and makes me be in a lot of pain. If there’s a big gathering where this plan needs to be tweaked, I plan on my meal, dessert, and at least 1 snack to come out of that. I have an ideal calorie range in mind, but as a minimum calorie intake. I don’t have a maximum calorie intake because I’ve learned over the years how to eye ball what my body needs, and just feel it out each day. I’m not looking to be a cover model, I’m looking to fuel my athletic endeavors, so deprivation is out of the question for me.

I use a nutrition program that I have found to work for me, after all of the years chopping, prepping, cooking, tupperwear’ing, and trying multitudes of proteins from retail stores. Now, I’ve finally found a training program that I seem to really like, so I’ll update you once I get through the first 12 weeks!!!!

**What are you doing to avoid the holiday weight gain? Any tips you always stick with when venturing out for a gathering? Have you done one of Jen’s programs?**

Share your thoughts, please!

