Food · Things I love · Training

I’m obsessed: Protein Mocha

Chocolate. Coffee. Vegan Protein. Need I say more?!

Chocolate Coffee. mmm
Chocolate Coffee. mmm

I’ve been toying around with variations in protein recipes, due to the need to up my protein intake with the amount of running I’ve been going through and will be going through since we are in marathon training.

I know that mixing hot liquids into [quality] protein powders will kill the enzymes and be less digestible, but my love of mochas needed to be satisfied at home (especially on those early morning runs in which coffee is needed after).

I received a sample of the Sun Warrior’s Warrior Blend Chocolate protein powder after falling in love with their vanilla flavor, and KNEW this is what my gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free belly has been NEEDING! Holy YUM!

So here’s what I do:

Make Cold Press Coffee Concentrate (original recipe) I pinned that here, I recommend doing the same.

  • 1 cup coffee beans, coarsely ground
  • 4 cups water

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add the grounds and the water to a 40-ounce or larger jar or pitcher with airtight lid. Stir. Put the lid on and put the jar/pitcher somewhere out of the way on your kitchen counter, out of direct sunlight.
  2. Let it sit for at least 6 hours, up to 12.
  3. Pour it into a French press and gently push down the plunger. Pour out the iced coffee concentrate.
Everyone needs one of these.
Everyone needs one of these.

Add 1/2 cup of water to each 1/2 cup of the concentrate. When you want the mocha, though, add 1/2-1 cup of ice to a blender, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup of coffee concentrate, and 1 scoop chocolate protein powder. Blend until desired consistency.

Mix it up!
Mix it up!
Chocolate Protein AND COFFEE!!!
Chocolate Protein AND COFFEE!!!

When I know I’m going to gone for the day, I’ll bring a scoop of the protein powder with me in a shaker cup and add an iced Americano to it.

Cold coffee on a hot day
Cold coffee on a hot day
All the goodness in a cup.
All the goodness in a cup.

SOO GOOOOOOD.

Let me know if you try this, or have a similar recipe you think I should try!

2 thoughts on “I’m obsessed: Protein Mocha

Share your thoughts, please!

