#RunThisYear · Random · Training

March Assisted Long Run (ASL)

I participated in my first group assisted long run last Saturday morning, March 14.  It was a cooler March day, which means I had to wear long-sleeves, fleece-lined pants, and an ear band.  I’ve been running since 2007, and participated in organized races since 2011.  The fact that it’s 2015 and I’m just now joining group runs might show you a trend: I incorporate something “new” into my running every 4 years.  This may or may not be as effective as the elected officials’ who are in office 4-years or longer. 😉

An assisted long run (ASL) has at least one water stop, and, if you’re lucky, fuel.  This particular group I am now part of has both on their ASL’s, which are held once a month.  If you’re in the Twin Cities area, you may have heard of Mill City Running.  This is an amazing place for all things running, and they have weekly runs, various in type and distance.  I love going in there just to window shop, and now that I’m running with them it gives me even more opportunities to browse the beautiful selection of gear.

Back to this ASL: since this was my first group run, I was not familiar with their route.  They did a route preview in-store just before heading out, and there were many people that were ‘elected’ as pacers.  It was a large turn-out, too.

For my training, I only needed to run 6 miles, but they had a 22 miler laid out if someone wanted/needed to go that distance.  It was a lollipop route, which means it looks like a lollipop!

Here are some of the photos I took along the way, since this was a new route for me, and I adore it!  I plan on running along here many days to come, with or without the running group!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Do/have you run with a group?

Share your thoughts, please!

