Food · Training

How to Not Overeat

Happy International Be Happy Day! 

In doing preparations for my first half-marathon, I read the book Racing Weight: How to Get Lean for Peak Performance, by Matt Fitzgerald.  Since I’m training for my second half-marathon in preparation for my first full, I decided to read the book again.

I’ve found a lot of the information beneficial to everyone, not just endurance athletes, which the book is geared toward.  For example, there’s a section of managing your appetite and “How to Not Overeat:”
1. Learn the difference between belly hunger and head hunger
2. Clean out your kitchen of the low-quality temptations
3. Use smaller dishes
4. Spoil your appetite
5. Keep healthy foods handy
6. Plan for temptation
7. Avoid distracted eating
8. Limit Variety

Under each are tips and ideas of how to manage your appetite better.  There are three more books in my Kindle Library I ‘must’ read, so I better finish this book!

Since I love food, and can do a great job eating what’s in front of me, there are times I eat faster than I should and regret it later when my belly is swollen, and I move slowly.  I’ll keep my self in-check and hopefully not look like this:

What are your go-to books?  Have you read a Matt Fitzgerald piece?  What do you like to eat a LOT of?

Share your thoughts, please!

