Training

I stopped Running: WHOA

Happy Monday!!
I stopped running almost 2 months ago. WHY??? I injured myself in my last race, and I know time will heal, in addition to strengthening the weak muscles.

SO what have I been doing in the meantime? I have been weight training. Sometimes I use actual weights, sometimes I just use my body weight. I mix up the routine, but working out 20 minutes a day 6 days a week seems to be working for me.

What was injured: My right hip joint, and my left knee. It was pretty difficult to walk while I healed at least one of them. It would have been easier if they were both on one side of my body. A very important lesson has been learned.
How did I injure them: Not strengthen the muscles with weight training.

Seriously. Something so simple made me string up the running shoes for almost TWO MONTHS!!

I’m feeling stronger, now, but I’m going to ease back into running to nurture, and not destroy, my progress.

The agony of not running.
InjuredRunner
(Image source: https://emilymahr.files.wordpress.com/2014/12/4b838-cryingnorunning.jpeg)
#thestruggleisreal

There are MANY body weight training routines, start here for a list of resources: Pop Sugar

Has derailed running happened to you? How did you handle it?

Share your thoughts, please!

