#RunThisYear · Things I love · Training

9 hour day, 12 mile run, hills, hills, hills

HAPPY THURSDAY!
I started a different shift at work Tuesday night, 10pm-7:30am. I will only work 4 of these each week, which means a 3 day weekend! Today is my Friday, so #allthesleep and #allthefood shall be mine.

After I got home from work this morning, I knew I needed to get in my 12 miler I had been planning on all week. After a little dazed meandering around the house, I got geared up, figured out where I was going to run, and headed out.

I chose a new location, since I didn’t want to do laps in my neighborhood. I chose a county park 10 minutes from my house, I knew I could get all of my miles in and the scenery would be rejuvinating. I am running 12 miles, and I don’t want to get bored with my surroundings, afterall.

I couldn’t find a map with mileage of the trails, so I just set my sights on a path a started running. I knew I’d have to swap out 2 water bottles between miles 4 and 6, so I kept that in mind while the miles went by. There were a few hills, but I took them with stride. I made a 4.1 mile loop back to the Jeep, swapped the bottles, made a stop at the nearby port-o-potty, and the headed down a new path.

I am usually a fan of hills, but there were so many Hills.

20140515-200614.jpg

One of the paths lead me to this swamp that had a set of docks strung together to make a bridge.
HillBHP
This part was such a TOUGH effort for my legs, those docks were on floats!!

and then more HILLS.
This one had one of those yellow caution signs at the top because of the decline.
SteepHillBHP

I successfully kept up my pace, despite the pain shooting through my legs after the dock and hills. After 2 hours, 3 minutes, and 58 seconds, I completed 12.2 miles!!!
In my cooler that I had packed, was a shaker bottle of what I am going to call a “Super Protein Shake.” I drank it after I spent 5 minutes with my feet up the side of my Jeep.
20140515-202314.jpg
The shake was delicious, gave me the recovery fuel I needed, and didn’t have a bad belly side effect afterwards (I never realized until now that belly bloat after protein is NOT normal).

Tomorrow I’m going to get my first massage, ever. And it’s going to be a sports massage. Perfect planning this week.
HAVE A GREAT FRIDAY!

❤ Emily

One thought on “9 hour day, 12 mile run, hills, hills, hills

Share your thoughts, please!

