Food · Training

Weights, meal prep, March 1

Hello, March!

Today is the first day, of the third month, of 2014. Woohoo! Hopefully all of this snow melts fast, I’m done with winter.

I randomly lift weights, I tend to get bored quickly and my ADD really kicks in during weights. What I managed to do today:
Kettle bell Skaters (from Toneitup.com Karina & Katrina are inspiring!) with 10 pound kettle bell.
20140301-181240.jpg
2. Single leg dead lifts, with 22 pounds total in hands.
3. Standing bicep curls with shoulder presses. 10 pound in left hand, 12 pound in right hand.
I completed 3 sets of 10 reps each.

Meal prep!
20140301-182431.jpg
Smoothie:
I have no idea the portions, but there is Silk Almond milk, banana, frozen strawberries, and kale. I freeze them to get the frozen smoothie consistency when I go to make one, and add in some more Almond milk and protein powder.

Chili:
I don’t follow a ‘recipe’ per se but this time I put the raw ground beef into the crockpot with the rest of my ingredients, have it a good stir, and let it cook for 6 hours and it turned out GREAT! I won’t be wasting time browning my meat for chili going forward. Such a time saver.

Trail mix:
1/4 cup of each:
Fresh toasted almonds (I buy raw in bulk and throw in 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes)
Sunflower seeds
Dried cherries
And these bad boys 20140301-182057.jpg

Salad:
Cooked/heated (from frozen) Kale
1/2 Green Apple
3 slices strawberries
Blue cheese, to taste

If you want more meal prep ideas, check out Lindsay’s blog. She has great ideas, and will showcase a few from others every Sunday!
Prepping meals for each week not only saves time, but it ensures you’re eating something that fits within your lifestyle. I am gluten intolerant, so I HAVE to bring my own snacks every where I go in addition to the need to eat every 2-3 hours that my runner’s body so enjoys. I have a big purse, it holds everything including my bag of snacks and a water bottle. My boyfriend gave it to me for Christmas, it’s designer, knowing I need to cram a lot in there and really should have something professional looking that hides all my stuff. πŸ˜„ I rarely eat out, especially at work, because I need to know what is in my food, and making lunches saves money for more shoes and races!

What are your weekly meal staples?
Do you pack snacks in your purse or brief case?
What are your favorite snacks?

Share your thoughts, please!

