#RunThisYear · Things I love · Training

Week 4.5 Mileage #RunThisYear

Snowmageddon, Snowpocalypse, Polar Vortex, Minnesota Winter.

Whatever you want to call it, it’s frigid and windy outside most of January, every year.  I base my runs upon the forecast, and due to the straight-line winds lately I had to post-pone my scheduled Saturday run to today.  Wednesday.

Hump Day.

Here’s what today looked like:

Image

See that 10 day forecast?  Welcome to Minnesnowta.  I hate winter, I’ve lived in Minnesota 99.5% of my life, and the only reason I am still here is because I love our summers.  They’re 100 degrees warmer.  Literally!

Since it’s so warm outside (insert sarcasm during any point of this post), I was ready to run!  I was almost bouncing off the walls I was so excited it wasn’t freaky windy out so I could run.

Here’s what a section of today’s route looked like:

Image

That’s a snow drift cause by the 40+mph winds over the last few weeks, in addition to the snow that’s blessed our area of the world.

The machinery that clears the snow leaves about an inch or so of snow, so I’ll be wearing YakTrax XTR on my runs until about March or April.  Here’s some photos from the YakTrax website:
Image

I like to think of it as removable cleats for running in snow.
Here’s a profile of the Steel.
Image
I am so freaking excited to have these, now I’ll hopefully be able to conquer more runs than just one each week.
I also equipped myself with a new pair of running tights, they have a wind guard on the thighs so I don’t cry in wind chill biting pain.  I have a pair from Nike, they’re on sale RIGHT NOW.

Cheers to getting gear to keep on running!  I think it keeps me more sane than avoiding a treadmill.  We don’t own a treadmill and I would much prefer to never own one, nature is such a stress reliever in addition to pounding out some miles.

What gear do you need for seasons?
Are there any items/tips that you’ve picked up as a runner to keep your (in)sanity?
What is the worst part of where you live and why do you choose to still live there?

Share your thoughts, please!

