#RunThisYear · Training

Week 3 Mileage: #RunThisYear #stupidsnow edition

It’s the time of year for roller-coaster temperatures here in Minnesota. Today’s high was 37 degrees Farenheit, Tuesday’s high will be 2 degrees Farenheit, and Friday’s high will be 27 degrees Farenheit. Planning outdoor runs is essential, for me at least. I like to run on Sunny days, especially if it’s below 20 degrees.

Due to today’s warm temperature, I ran today instead of yesterday (my weekly scheduled Saturday). I am so glad I did because that warm weather is not something to waste! There were a lot cleaner roads, as well, since the sun had some time melting the snow and the snowplows had opportunities to move the snow.
Today I planned to run over 6 miles, so I wore my FuelBelt loaded with only 2 bottles instead of the 4 it holds and 1/2 pack of PROBAR Bolt.

I wore my Head Sweats Performance Visor supporting RunChat along with these neat Earmuff Headphones. My ears were warm and my sweat was not dripping down my face!

20140119-174215.jpg

The 6.26 miles weren’t entirely easy, I did run on snow, slush, and the in-between stuff that looks like snow but has the consistency of sand. After the first 1/2 mile I decided to adjust my route from the usual sidewalks to low-traffic roads. I did this to avoid the sidewalks because they weren’t yet plowed/shoveled and didn’t want to get hurt. As you can see from these photos, the roads were a lot better.
20140119-172010.jpg

What seasonal gear do you have?
I think I need Yaktraks, opinions please!
Are there any conditions you prefer to run in?
Tell me about a time you stepped in a puddle.

2 thoughts on “Week 3 Mileage: #RunThisYear #stupidsnow edition

Share your thoughts, please!

